DJ Awards Winners

Who is the best Player? The Ibiza DJ Awards 2013

What the Oscar is for actors, the Ibiza DJ Award wants to be for DJs. The prestigious prize is awarded for the 16th time this year in a pompous ceremony at Pacha. Among the nominees are this season’s finest artists from David Guetta and Armin van Buuren over Luciano and Sven Väth to Carl Cox and Maceo Plex.

DJ Awards Winners

Until the end of August fans could vote for their favourites online at, now the winners will be revealed at a gala night on September 25th. Among the most exciting categories is ‘Best Electro House’ where greats like David Guetta, Steve Angello, Calvin Harris or Afrojack are battling it out. For ‘Best Techno DJ’ it’s a fierce fight between Carl Cox, Richie Hawtin and Sven Väth.

As usual the DJ Awards are not exempt from critique. Many question whether Dubfire or Sasha indeed play Tech-House, and also if Maceo Plex is belonging to the Deep-House category raised more than a few eyebrows.

Others are questioning the transparency of the voting process. And with only four women among the nominees our scene is still largely in the hands of men.

However, the mere nomination is a coveted acknowledgment of ones impacts on the Ibiza scene and the event is not to be thought of as a battle but a celebration and gathering of talent.

Apart from the nine categories which where voted by fans, a jury of experts and professionals will award eleven special prices. Among these are ‘Track of the year’, ‘Best Ibizan night’ or ‘Best Producer’. Last year the Vagabundos and ENTER. teams shared ‘Best Ibiza Party’ and Solomun was awarded producer of the year.

This year’s ceremony is taking place on Wednesday, September 25th at Pacha, followed by Guy Gerber’s party Wisdom of the Glove. Apart from the host, Audiofly and Mayaan Nidam will play, along with Visionquest’s Lee Curtiss and Shaun Reeves.